Come on lads, lets get home, the sky is beginning to bruise, night must fall and we shall be forced to camp.

I’ve not been on a bike for some time. I went out yesterday. I attempted this:
http://www.strava.com/activities/98123218#

It’s not complete, I’m a bit disappointed as there was one point I was NAILING it on the run in to home. I mean really nailing it, legs furiously spinning away, fluoro oversocks a blur of dizzying movement, cross tyres humming away.

The rest of the ride was great, it’s the first time I’ve really had a go at ‘cross/riding in the dirt (deliberately). It takes some getting used to having the tyre pressures low; but after bouncing around on the down hills when you hit bumps, I soon understood. The only downside was the puncture/inner tube finally giving out and not holding enough air (faulty valve I think). Which meant I had to stop our extreme skillz session for a tube replacement.

My original reason for going single speed was simplicity. Having to undo chain tugs, then track nuts, then make tube change, then put it all back together made me wish I’d gone for the more complicated option of a dérailleur and multiple gears. However, having heard from a keen reader of this blog they recently lost a rear mech, I was reminded of the other major reason for doing this on one cog : cost.

I’m definitely going to have to work on running with the bike, there were points on the up hills where I ran out of oomph. I’m also going to have to work on my upper body so that I can actually carry the bike.

I’m not sure when my first race is, I’ve still not started a proper schedule of training for it. I should, technically, be rinsing myself on the turbo using trainer road. Unfortunately, it’s mince pie season. Further complications are apparent as we’re potentially moving house.  I have a feeling my first race is going to involve a lot of dry heaving.

Come on lads, lets get home, the sky is beginning to bruise, night must fall and we shall be forced to camp.

Leave a Reply

