We’ve all been there.

This is the first year I’ve used a training plan for more than 8 weeks. I looked at my spreadsheet today and realised I’ve missed a whole training block (probably more if I’m being truthful).

I’m a bit disappointed, I couldn’t motivate myself fully for one block and then was ill for about 3 weeks of  the last one.

I decided this year was going to be a year of time trials, some crits, some track, some riding with mates, and hill climbs. My first TT was cancelled 2 weeks ago, I sacrificed an ox and burnt their entrails as thanks to the cycling gods. Today, following a burst of motivation, I’ve entered the Beyond Spring crit series to get a taste of Cat 4 racing, which will help me make the decision about Crystal Palace crits in the summer. 

As the snow has disappeared, I’ve started to get out more on Saturday mornings (rather than just endlessly watching re-runs of Paris-Roubaix / listening to Ron Hardy Music box mixes with this or the Omar S Fabric 45 mix which has me “peaking” to this).

The general theme was supposed to be longer rides and building something we all know is incredibly valuable and what winter riding is all about, a winter bike. My winter bike is a Ridley.

How about that for a statement? I’ve no idea what model, but it’s clearly been owned by a  sponsored club rider. It’s plastered with scienceinsport.com stickers and has a previous owner’s name on it.  I’m hoping that it’s absorbed more than their spit, snot, and spilled energy drink.

This weekend, my front brake stopped working. Fortunately, I was aware of this before a sudden stop was required and I modulated my incredible downhill skills and talents accordingly. My garmin also managed to run out of battery, so I didn’t capture the full range of my efforts on this ride:

http://app.strava.com/activities/42921002

It was pretty hard, Exedown is never a favourite of mine and I really thought I was getting off and pushing at one point. Especially as someone was chatting to me about the deep and meaningful things in their life and not looking as flustered as I felt.

It was a long day out there, and there were a couple of times I thought about looking for a train home.

Fortunately, I was never too far away from home. My head definitely cleared after 2 gels in quick succession, followed by (in order):

Hope

Sunshine

And finally

Subsequently, everything that had happened on the ride was forgotten and the ride transformed into another amazing morning on a bike.

We’ve all been there.

Leave a Reply

